How long does it take to become a massage therapist in Illinois?

How long does it take to become a certified massage therapist?

This means completing an accredited massage therapy program and then passing a nationally-recognized exam. Programs range from 300 to 1,000 hours of in-class instruction and practical training. This can translate to somewhere between a few weeks and two years depending on the structure of the program you enroll in.

Do massage therapists make good money?

Massage Therapists made a median salary of $42,820 in 2019. The best-paid 25 percent made $59,370 that year, while the lowest-paid 25 percent made $29,420.

How much does a massage license cost?

Most programs are of this duration, though some may require up to 1000 hours before you earn your certificate. The tuition cost per hour of training is in the range of $6 – $17. This translates to a program cost in the range of $3,000 – $11,000.

Why is massage a licensed profession?

Professional licensing laws also enhance public safety by enforcing disciplinary actions against non-compliant practitioners. Statewide licensing is an instrument for public protection to ensure a person cannot claim to be a massage therapist without demonstrated education training and knowledge.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can a chiropractor flip a breech baby?

Why I quit being a massage therapist?

The first five years of practice are the most difficult because you’re not used to the physical demands, and many massage therapists quit due to burnout. Acclimating to the emotional demands are difficult as well. Clients come to you with frustrations and complaints, often times breaking down and crying in the room.

What should I not say to my massage therapist?

What NOT to Say / Do with Your Massage Therapist

  • Ask your massage therapist to go see a movie / come to your house / etc. …
  • Excessive noises. …
  • Comment on our looks/attractiveness. …
  • Poke your head out of the room to let us know you’re ready. …
  • Start undressing while we are still in the room. …
  • Touch us.

What are the cons of being a massage therapist?

What are the Disadvantages of Massage Therapy?

  • Time Engaging. We live in a busy world where time factor is a rare commodity. …
  • Expense. Trained and accredited therapists earn a living conducting massage therapies and they are not free. …
  • Physical Injuries. …
  • Awkwardness. …
  • Aftereffect.

How much do LMT make?

Where are massage therapists most in demand?

State Median Salary Top 10%
Arizona $43,240 $66,690
Arkansas $47,200 $63,410
California $34,400 $80,940
Colorado $46,020 $65,170

What is the difference between being licensed and certified?

The major difference between the two involves the administering authority. Certification is usually issued by a non-governmental agency, entity, or organization, for example, an association of nurses or a dentists’ board. Conversely, licensure must be issued by a government agency or entity.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the good effect of arm massage?

What happens if I dont renew my massage license?

If you do not renew your license, then you will be put on the delinquent list. You have the option of renewing via mail or online. If you attempt to renew via mail, then it can take 7 to 10 days to receive your license.

What can a certified massage therapist do?

Tasks and duties

  • Assessing soft tissue dysfunction.
  • Providing massage therapy to maintain, rehabilitate or augment physical function, or enhance wellbeing.
  • Manipulating muscles or other soft tissues of the body.
  • Providing clients with advice on how to manage or improve soft tissue conditions.