Do you need a license to be a massage therapist in Minnesota?
The state of Minnesota does not currently have any licensing or registration requirements for massage therapists.
How do I become a massage therapist in MN?
Proposed Requirements for Minnesota Massage Therapists
Massage therapists who apply for licensure on or after January 2024 will need to complete a minimum of 625 hours of education and training that includes professional ethics and business and legal practices related to massage therapy.
How much does a massage license cost?
Most programs are of this duration, though some may require up to 1000 hours before you earn your certificate. The tuition cost per hour of training is in the range of $6 – $17. This translates to a program cost in the range of $3,000 – $11,000.
How much do massage therapists make?
The national average annual wage of an massage therapist is $47,180, according to the latest data from the BLS. This is around $6,000 less than current average annual salary for all occupations, $53,490.
Is massage regulated in Minnesota?
Minnesota does not, as of 2015, have a law to license or register massage therapists at the state level. However, this does not mean there are no laws in place. Massage therapists in many municipalities, including St. Paul, Hopkins, and Burnsville do work under licenses.
Is there a national certification for massage therapy?
What is MBLEx? The Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination, or MBLEx test, is a nationally recognized exam for massage therapy licensure. The test is used by 44 U.S. states to assess a massage therapist’s educational background and understanding of key massage concepts.
Is massage therapy hard to learn?
Learning new things and pushing out of your comfort zone can be tough. … For students with a passion for wellness, massage therapy programs are intense but exciting, demanding but not grueling and engaging but not difficult.
How long does it take to get a massage therapy certification?
This means completing an accredited massage therapy program and then passing a nationally-recognized exam. Programs range from 300 to 1,000 hours of in-class instruction and practical training. This can translate to somewhere between a few weeks and two years depending on the structure of the program you enroll in.
What should I not say to my massage therapist?
What NOT to Say / Do with Your Massage Therapist
- Ask your massage therapist to go see a movie / come to your house / etc. …
- Excessive noises. …
- Comment on our looks/attractiveness. …
- Poke your head out of the room to let us know you’re ready. …
- Start undressing while we are still in the room. …
- Touch us.
What is the highest paid massage therapist?
Detailed List Of Massage Therapist Salaries By State
Is becoming a massage therapist worth it?
Massage therapy is a rewarding career that enables you to relax and heal your clients. Clients may come to you because they need to unwind and relax, or they may be experiencing muscle tenderness and soreness. Becoming a massage therapist allows you to help your clients live a happy and healthy lifestyle.